The Carper


Welcome to the Future by Dutch
May 22, 2012, 3:15 pm
Filed under: Current Events, Tech

Mashable – Welcome to the next phase in on-premises beer marketing. Either that, or it’s just a cool thing to look at when you’re hoisting a few.

Regardless, this glass, developed by ad agency BBDO in New York, is the most social beer glass we’ve seen. Activate that QR code and the glass checks you in to Foursquare, tweets about your pint and/or updates your Facebook status.

And in a nice branding twist, you have to use Guinness — or at least another very dark beer. If your beer is filled with an ordinary pilsner like Budweiser, you won’t be able to read the code.

First off, yes, this is pretty cool, however something that can sign you in anywhere is downright suicide.  I’m thinking of so many different situations where I don’t want people to know where I am, my head is starting to hurt.  I’ve never been on board with FourSquare or “Checking In” that shit is for the birds.  Yes, I am at the bar and no, I don’t need you knowing that.  If you knew that then you would think i’m an alcoholic because the only reason I leave my house is to go drinking.

If I’m hanging out with my buddies it’s because I want to see them and they are the only people I care about knowing where I am.  And before you say “oh dutch, but you can catch your girl if she’s lying or cheating.”  No.  That’s what the gps tracking app I installed on her phone is for.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Say Your Piece

